Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Our staff

Mackay State High School is led by our Principal, three Deputy Principals and ten Heads of Department and a Head of Special Education Services.  We also have Year Level Coordinators and a Student Services team comprised of a Guidance Officer, School Based Youth Health Nurse, Chaplain and Community Education Counsellor.

Heads of Department - Heads of Department (HOD) are responsible for the management of their department in helping achieve the aims of the school.  The HOD leads a team of teachers in the delivery of the curriculum.

  • Access Centre - Majella Hoffmann

  • Business Education - Clayton Campbell (Acting)

  • Curriculum/VET - David Mathewson

  • English - Claire Blessas

  • Junior Secondary - Matt Skinner

  • Manual Arts - Joe Slack

  • Mathematics - Jim Laidlaw

  • Physical Education - Andrew Gercken (Acting)

  • Science - Kylie Anthes

  • Senior Schooling - Sharon Barnard

  • Social Science - Roxanne Aprile

  • The Arts - Troy Patti

  • Year Level Coordinators - Year Coordinators address the welfare needs of students in a specific year level while encouraging their participation in all aspects of school life.  Areas of concern for Year Coordinators are uniform, attendance records, behavior in areas outside the classroom and pastoral care.

  • Year 7 - Lynne Hardy

  • Year 8 - Michelle Hoffman

  • Year 9 - Mickayla Kliese

  • Year 10 - Liz Atkins

  • Year 11 - Kevin Blakey

  • Year 12 - Miles Jackson

Mackay State High School Student Support Team

If you wish to contact any of our staff you can do so by emailing and insert the teachers name in the subject area.  This will then be forwarded directly to the appropriate teacher.